#Inktober2018 #day30 #jolt

I don’t really know how to express the relief I feel right now. This was close. Very very close.

But first things first. Jolt, according to dictionaries, could be an abrupt or violent movement. With that in mind, I had started thinking of what to draw, right from the morning. Sometimes at the risk of getting distracted from work.

I ran several possibilities in my head. A toe hitting the wall, a padlock falling on your foot, falling out of a tree, the spooky experience I had last night and so on and so forth. But then I realized I wanted to do each of them because of the story that accompanied it; because I have experienced all that.

Which means that I didn’t properly take into account how I would draw these scenes. And when I started thinking of that part, I knew I won’t be able to bring it out well.

I turned back to google. Not to much avail, as it showed me a softdrink brand and a transformer series robot named jolt. By the time I sat down to finally do it, it was well past 9pm.

At some point, I decided I will draw Batman. It could be the influence of the Gotham series I started watching. Anyway, an action pose of Batman it was going to be. Easily said than done!

I tried pencilling five times if not more, only to erase them all. The anatomy, the muscular structure, the face, the mask, the angle, something or the other kept going wrong. Until eventually, somehow, this happened. It looks rudimentary, I know. But trust me, I worked as hard for this, as almost any of my much more complicated sketches.

I extend my courtesy to the artists and creators of Batman, as well as @dccomics

Leave a comment